Weibo
WeChat
WAPE 2021 Forum: Plenary Session I

You can share it to WeChat via the Qr code.

Events
WAPE 2021 Forum: Plenary Session I

Enter the applet sharing event using WeChat scan.

Plenary Information

WAPE 2021 Forum


Please REGISTER to join Plenary Session I , and ENTER the Zoom meeting room!

(Zoom ID:827 7813 5535    Password: 2021PS1)


 Saturday, December 18

 

Beijing 08:30 – 13:10 (GMT 00:30-05:10)

Plenary Session I

(with simultaneous translation of Chinese, English, Russian, German, French, Spanish, and Japanese)

 

No.1 Lecture Hall


Opening & Awarding Ceremony

Chair: Professor Sun Yuwei

School of Marxism, Shanghai International Studies University, China


Beijing 08:30 – 08:36 (GMT 00:30–00:35)         

Professor Jiang Feng, Chair of the University Council, Minister-Counsellor, Shanghai International Studies University, China

Welcome Remarks


Beijing 08:36 – 08:50 (GMT 00:35–00:50)        

Professor Cheng Enfu, Chair, World Association for Political Economy, Chief Professor, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), Deputy Director, Academic Committee, CASS University, China

Opening Remarks


Beijing 08:50 – 08:55 (GMT 00:50–00:55)       

Professor Ding Xiaoqin, Secretary General, World Association for Political Economy, Chair Professor, Shanghai Univeristy of Finance and Economics, China

Awards Announcement 


Beijing 08:55 – 09:00 (GMT 00:55–01:00)       

Professor Wang Jing, Vice Chair of the University Council, Shanghai International Studies University, China

Granting Ceremony

 

Beijing 09:00 – 09:10 (GMT 01:00–01:10)       

Professor Ding Bing, Capital University of Economics and Business, General Counsel, China Society of Foreign Economics

Acceptance Speech


Beijing 09:10 – 09:20 (GMT 01:10–01:20)       

Professor Guglielmo Carchedi, University of York, Canada, Faculty of Economics, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Acceptance Speech(Video)

 

 

Plenary Speeches I

Chair: Professor Jean-Claude Delaunay

Vice Chair, World Association for Political Economy

 

Beijing 09:20 – 09:35 (GMT 01:20–01:35)             

David Kotz, Vice Chair, World Association for Political Economy, Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA

Marxist Political Economy versus Neoclassical Economics: Roots of the Conflicting Approaches to Understanding the Economy 

 

Beijing 09:35 – 09:50 (GMT 01:35–01:50)           

Niemeyer Almeida Filho, Vice Chair, World Association for Political Economy, Full Professor at the Institute of Economics and International Relations at the Federal University of Uberlandia, Brazil

Implications of Transition to Capitalism in Brazil for The Reproduction of The Dependency

 

Beijing 09:50 – 10:05 (GMT 01:50–02:05)           

Wadi’h Halabi, Member of CPUSA and Co-Director of Center for Marxist Education, USA

Is There a Material Basis for Revolutionary Optimism Today?

 

Beijing 10:05 – 10:20 (GMT 02:05–02:20)          

David Laibman, Professor Emeritus of City University of New York, Editor of Science & Society, USA

Political Economy After Economics

 

Beijing 10:20 – 10:35 (GMT 02:20–02:35)           

Radhika Desai, Professor, Department of Political Studies, Director,Geopolitical Economy Research Group, University of Manitoba, President, Society for Socialist Studies, Canada

Of ‘Marxist Economics’, Smithian and Ricardian, and the need to recover Marx’s Critique of Political Economy


Beijing 10:35 – 10:50 (GMT 02:35–02:50)           

Professor Yang Cheng, Executive President of Shanghai Academy of Global Governance and Area Studies at Shanghai International Studies University, China

COVID-19 Vaccines and Russia's New Sputnik Moment in Domestic and Foreign Affairs



 

Plenary Speeches II

Chair: Adnan Akfirat

Chairman, Turkish-Chinese Business Development and Friendship Association, Turkey 


Beijing 10:50 – 11:05 (GMT 02:50–03:05)              

Balwinder Tiwana Singh, Vice Chair, World Association for Political Economy, Professor Emeritus, Punjabi University Patiela, India 

Corporatization of Agriculture and Farmers’ Struggle in India


Beijing 11:05 –11:20 (GMT 03:05–03:20)             

Peter Herrmann, Research Fellow at the Human Rights Center, Law School at the Central South University, Changsha, China, Member of the Institute for International Political Economy, Berlin School of Economics and Law, Germany

Political Economy, Science that Lost Its Subject Matter

 

Beijing 11:20 – 11:35 (GMT 03:20–03:35)            

Jean Claude Delaunay, Vice Chair, World AssoIciation for Political Economy, Professor Emeritus, Université de Paris, France

Imperialism To-Day : New Features, New Sets of Contradictions

 

Beijing 11:35 – 11:50 (GMT 03:35–03:50)          

Sergey Bodrunov, Expert of the Russian Academy of Sciences, President of 

Free Economic Society of Russia, President of the International Union of Economists

Political and Economic Foundations for Research of Global Transformations in 21st Century: From Myths about Postindustrialism to Noonomy (Video)


Beijing 11:50 – 12:05 (GMT 03:50–04:05)          

Professor Zhang Yugui, Dean of School of Economics and Finance, Shanghai International Studies University, China

Study on the Changes of Guarantors in Global Economic and Financial System from the Perspective of Political Economy: on the Modern Financial Ladership of the Communist Party of China


Beijing 12:05 – 12:20 (GMT 04:05–04:20)           

Professor Yousas Yusovich Yelmaravichus,Doctor of History, Served as Secretary and Minister of Propaganda and Inspiration Department of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Lithuania, and Member of the Political Bureau of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, Currently Serves as the Vice-Chairman of the Central Committee of the UCP-CPSU of Russia

The Causes of the Disintegration of the USSR and the Revolution in the Post-revolutionary Era


 

 

Book Launches

Chair: Professor Ding Xiaoqin

Secretary General, World Association for Political Economy

Chair Professor, Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, China

 

Beijing 12:20 – 12:25 (GMT 04:20–04:25)        

Jeff Xiong, Maku Cultural Communication, China

Launch Remarks on China’s Economic Dialectic: The Original Aspiration of Reform

 

Beijing 12:25 – 12:35 (GMT 04:25–04:35)       

Professor John Bellamy Foster, University of Oregon and Editor of Monthly Review, China

Launch Remarks on China’s Economic Dialectic: The Original Aspiration of Reform(Video)

 

Beijing 12:35 – 12:45 (GMT 04:35–04:45)      

Vijay Prashad, Indian Historian and Journalist, Chief Correspondent for Globetrotter and a Columnist for Frontline, Chief Editor of LeftWord Books, New Delhi, India

Launch Remarks on China’s Economic Dialectic: The Original Aspiration of Reform(Video)

 

Beijing 12:45 – 13:00 (GMT 04:45–05:00)     

Heinz Dieterich, Vice Chair, World Association for Political Economy, Coordinator, World Advanced Research Project, WARP, Global Coordinator, the Center for Transition Sciences, Mexico

Launch Remarks on The China Miracle: Science, Leadership, Power---Can China transcend global Capitalism?

 

Beijing 13:00 – 13:10 (GMT 05:00–05:10)     

Asat Borisovich Rakhmanov, Professor at Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia, Doctor of Philosophy, Joined the Communist Party of the Soviet Union in 1991

Launch Remarks on Chinese Innovative Marxism: Selected Works of Enfu cheng

Speech On the Question of the Reasons for the Death of the USSR



Please check the WAPE 2021 Forum Full Program here!